Day 16 – New light

Okay so I might have overreacted last weekend. It could be because I was having a homesick or some sort. But anyway, all is well now. Didn’t update anything yesterday as nothing really happen. I just went to church, stroll around the neighborhood and got a good night rest. Today, however, was such a humorous day. I can’t stop myself from grinning, it’s weird. At GMC, I was given two tasks. First, I had to edit the session 3 of Family Conference and second, the session 3 of Friday Series. It was just basic offline editing though, cutting and pasting the videos for reference use. Of course I didn’t mind, at least I had something to do today. Anyway, the highlight of today was the Homily during the morning mass. The priest was telling us a story about his vocation and basically what made him, him. I can’t really say that elaborately, but I’ll try to get the gist out of it. Basically, when he wanted to be a priest, many things hindered him, one of which was his dad not agreeing on his chosen path. When he finally joined the ministry, there were also more obstacles and several times he wanted to quit. Apparently, he did quit for a moment but joined back after he knew it was his calling. Soon he was ordained and surprisingly the only one from his batch that was able to finish and become a priest. Next thing he knew, a tragic thing happened, his dad had passed away. What the priest said next literally gave me chills, “is God trying to punish me?” He was asking everyone and the hall went silent, he repeated a few times again, there were tears in his eyes and I couldn’t help myself to tear up a little. Was God punishing him though? However, the priest didn’t answer that question, instead he reminded us what the scriptures said;

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. – Matthew 16:24

I am sending you out like sheep surrounded by wolves, so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves. – Matthew 10:16

This meant that when we choose to follow Him, we can’t expect there to be a red carpet to heaven or a easy way in. We can’t expect it to have no hindrance and sadness. Nothing good was ever easy. This really hit me a little, as what I was feeling just a few days before, these words of assurance from the priest, even though not directly, I felt like it was meant for me. The priest wasn’t done however, he said that it didn’t end there, just a few days ago he was deported from the country he was assigned to, and that is why he was able to celebrate mass with us today. Lesson; Everything happen for a reason, God works in mysterious ways and happiness is with Him in heaven. Nevertheless, do keep him in our prayers tonight and every other night.

Leave a Reply

